Lacie Ethernet Disk Mini (Linux, Ubuntu): EDmini_LogOn

English

If you have one of these toys and have difficulty accessing it via USB since an operating system update (ubuntu dapper to edgy did it for me and feisty did not fix it), this is how I got it to work again.

First off it won’t even start if you don’t follow the instructions I found on this French page of which I have copy/pasted the basic instructions:

when you entersudo ./EDmini_LogOnyou should get this error:


X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 168
Major opcode: 148
Minor opcode: 3
Resource id: 0x0
Failed to open device
X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 168
Major opcode: 148
Minor opcode: 3
Resource id: 0x0
Failed to open device

to fix this the sections concerning wacom tablet devices in /etc/X11/xorg.conf should be commented out to look like this:


#Section “InputDevice”
# Driver “wacom”
# Identifier “stylus”
# Option “Device” “/dev/wacom” # Change to
# # /dev/input/event
# # for USB
# Option “Type” “stylus”
# Option “ForceDevice” “ISDV4” # Tablet PC ONLY
#EndSection

#Section “InputDevice”
# Driver “wacom”
# Identifier “eraser”
# Option “Device” “/dev/wacom” # Change to
# # /dev/input/event
# # for USB
# Option “Type” “eraser”
# Option “ForceDevice” “ISDV4” # Tablet PC ONLY
#EndSection

#Section “InputDevice”
# Driver “wacom”
# Identifier “cursor”
# Option “Device” “/dev/wacom” # Change to
# # /dev/input/event
# # for USB
# Option “Type” “cursor”
# Option “ForceDevice” “ISDV4” # Tablet PC ONLY
#EndSection

Section “ServerLayout”
Identifier “Default Layout”
Screen “Default Screen”
InputDevice “Generic Keyboard”
InputDevice “Configured Mouse”
# InputDevice “stylus” “SendCoreEvents”
# InputDevice “cursor” “SendCoreEvents”
# InputDevice “eraser” “SendCoreEvents”
InputDevice “Synaptics Touchpad”
EndSection

at this point Restarting the X server should do the trick.

Now that getting it to start up in Dapper is covered (it may need some KDE or QT libraries or dev libraries to work, but I’m not sure), let’s talk about the issues what started happening from Edgy Eft onwards was that when I clicked on the username or password text entry the program crashed without so much as a whimper.

Now the way I got a fix is a little odd and unexplained:

I ran DDD (graphical interface to gdb) as root:sudo gdbFrom where I opened the EDmini_LogOn program (Ctrl-O) and ran it (F2) and pressed continue (F9) at every error message!

Since doing this, it as started working normally, albeit throwing truckloads of errors and warnings and whatnot.

I hope someone finds this usefull!

Update: Nope it has not automagically fixed itself … 😦

To make it work it must be run through DDD (or GDB) as root.

7 Comments

  1. No, my computer is trying blow itself up (with the help of two feline conspirators) by accumulating fur-balls in its cooling system! 😉

    It could be done with GDB I just can’t remember the shortcuts and keypress combinations for it.

    Can you?:p

    Reply

  2. I dont get his error but another:
    [18:24 root Linux]# ./EDmini_LogOn
    Fontconfig warning: line 32: unknown element “cachedir”
    Fontconfig warning: line 33: unknown element “cachedir”
    Fontconfig warning: “/etc/fonts/conf.d/80-delicious.conf”, line 18: invalid match target “scan”
    [18:27 root Linux]#
    ———-

    How to fix this??? I dont use any wacoom in my xorg.conf..

    Reply

  3. Have you tried running through ddd anyway? Whatever the error it should let you trudge on anyway just hitting F9.
    What distro are you using do you have qt and kde libraries and development libraries installed (I seem to remember that not having them was an issue for me).

    It doesn’t matter weather you use a wacom board or not if the lines are present in /etc/X11/xorg.conf they throw issues with usb connections around, this of course may be an issue limited to ubuntu, I don’t know.

    Best of luck and let me know!

    BTW writing an email to lacie to let them know about the issues would be another good idea.

    Reply

  4. I get the same error as Jinn above.

    # ./EDmini_LogOn
    Fontconfig warning: line 32: unknown element “cachedir”
    Fontconfig warning: line 33: unknown element “cachedir”
    Fontconfig warning: “/etc/fonts/conf.d/80-delicious.conf”, line 18: invalid match target “scan”

    However the same Lacie device works fine under my other RedHat AS servers. I have been “googleing” for any fix, but so far, nogo.
    Any help appreciated.

    Reply

  5. Yes that’s the error it gave me when I upgraded.

    What I did was run sudo ddd and opened the EDmini_logon program in ddd made it continue on errors with F9 at the first or second error it should load and you can use it normally from there.

    I don’t know what causes this, I’d guess some newer versions basic libraries have more stringent coding requirements … But I’m clueless as what specifically it may be.

    Hope this helps.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

