Backup!

English

Ok, so I’ve just about finished setting up a high availability fileserving cluster with automatic backups, I’ve finished menacing my lusers with a LART to make sure they make regular backups… I go sit at my desk start taking a look at my research, pick up the pieces where I left them before having to find someones lost password or miss-deleted files (no, sysadmins cannot pull destroyed and overwritten data out of thin air, even if some claim the contrary for bragging purposes) to make a long story short: Bang, fizzle, pffft! Yes, that was indeed my hard-drive … And yes I hear you, of course I have a backup … well … er sort of … I mean, come on october is pretty recent init?

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrgh!

Fortunately I’m a lucky bastard and the screwed sectors were few and far between, I managed to regain most of my data … But boy have I learned a lesson through sheer terror …

On the bright side it gave a fantastic excuse to install ubuntu GNU/Linux fiesty fawn on the machine and I shall be telling you all about it and my new strategy for automated backups shortly on this space.

Italiano

Dunque, come dire ho appena finito di “tirare a lucido” una bella coppia di serverini ridondati in alta affidabilità con sistemi di backup a prova di armageddon, ho svolto il quotidiano dovere di strigliamento dei miei utonti con particolare attenzione posta sull’utilità, no anzi sul dovere improrogabile che ciascuno ha di fare backup periodici numerosi e completi. Quand’ecco che mi rendo conto che la partizione principale della mia macchina elaboratore è montato in sola lettura contro la mia volontà … no non è semplicemente finito lo spazio … no, qualunque numero di interventi con fsck e quant’altro non cambia la situazione … il disco è brasato! Niente panico direte voi, tanto sicuramente TU di tutte le persone il backup l’hai fatto! … Si certo che l’ho fatto, cioè però … è che … nel senso … che cioè … risale a ottobre!

UUUUUAAAAAAAAAAAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh!

Va beh, ho capito me la sono cercata, però sono un fetente fortunato (FF), è un cp -a su un altro disco mi ha recuperato tutto ciò che c’era d’importante. Si è vero lo ammetto perché nessuno dei settori distrutti del disco contenesse dati importanti della mia home ho di /var/lib/mysql, mi sono fato sodomizzare da un eurostar e ho pure goduto.

La buona notizia è che questa disgrazia mi offre l’opportunità perfetta per installare la nuova ubuntu feisty fawn, della quale vi parlerò assieme alle nuove e violente strategie di backup che ho implementato. 😉

Leave a Reply

